The Perfect Fix…For A Natural-Haired Beauty…

“…How Did You Get Your Hair To Do That…?

Image

^And Here’s The Look On My Face When I Hear This Question^

                                                                                      Brown Truth Natural Hair Moment #3:

Many things are brought to your attention when you are natural, particularly the types of styles you are able to successfully do when your hair is in a natural state. I have technically only been “natural” for about eight months, even though I do count my post relaxer time as my primary natural journey which is coming up on 23 months in a couple of weeks.

However, many people come up to me often and ask, “How do you get your hair to do that?”…these are usually the same individuals who I’ve told about being natural or going natural and their response is always something along the lines of…”Oh I can’t do that, I’d be looking crazy”…or “natural hair isn’t for me girl”….and my all time favorite…”I’m fine with my relaxed hair, I’ve never had a problem with the health of my relaxed hair”-can we say OXYMORON-you can agree or disagree, it really does not matter, but I do not believe your hair can be healthy in any way, shape, or form, while it is in a relaxed state.

Granted there are those individuals who have that thick-looking and long relaxed hair that seems to never get damaged right? I don’t care who you are, or how gorgeous or beautiful you think your “thick” relaxed hair is…eventually…any chemically treated Afrocentric hair will meet its downfall because simply…it’s not meant to be that way and will eventually become broken and exhausted.

Well back to my point, it gets irritating when the people who are so awed and amazed by the thickness, health, and beauty of your natural hair are the same women who are too scared to admit that they’re scared of going back natural, or are in denial that the illusion of healthy hair is not a component of their mindset.

So, my response is usually, “…so you want to talk genetics…” or “…well I just grew it out naturally…”…well I’m just kidding I don’t say that, I know those responses sound extremely sarcastic, but that’s usually what I want to respond with, however; my actual response is usually “…well I’m natural now and this hairstyle is just one of the benefits of having naturally curly hair…”

Tell me your experiences with this constant question from non-naturals. Are your responses similar? How do you drop your natural hair knowledge?

-The Brown Truth

2 responses

  1. rocquelleislovely

    Oh I get that question all of the time!! After I get my face back together, I usually tell them something like, if you really wanted to you could, or it’s just experimenting with my bobby pins.

    May 4, 2013 at 3:58 pm

    • Love it!

      People need to stop being scared, LOL, natural hair is thebomb.com

      -The Brown Truth

      May 4, 2013 at 6:15 pm

Thanks for supporting me! Be creative and share the positivity of the Natural Hair World!

