The Perfect Fix…For A Natural-Haired Beauty…

When You’re Aiming For A Certain Hair Length Or Goal:

                                                                                            Brown Truth Natural Hair Moment #5:

I was just thinking about how often I have to answer questions about how long have I ‘been’ natural or how my hair ‘grows’ so fast…and it occurred to me that the most patient naturals almost always have the BEST growth results.

I am coming up on 23 months post relaxer in just a couple of weeks and my hair is already well past my collar-bone. I have not put heat into my hair at all for the last two years, no color, no EXCESSIVE or UNNECESSARY cutting and trimming, and I faithfully keep my hair ‘misted’ daily. I’ve only trimmed it when I needed to, I do hot oil treatments biweekly, and deep condition/detangle my hair every week.

I don’t have the type of natural hair that you can just brush and that’s it for a ponytail. It’s extremely thick and tightly curly and takes a lot of love…

It all comes down to the healthy shape you want your hair to be in…I hardly focus on length and put everything I have into health…fast growth and thick strands just comes along with the territory.

My message for naturals: PATIENCE, though it may be difficult, is your best friend when it comes to the health, growth, and retention…before you hit that ‘first’ length goal…this is not the time to try every beautiful or stylish hairstyle in the book…it’s the time to nurture your hair and give it exactly what it needs…until next time my natural-haired sisters…take it week by week…

The Brown Truth

2 responses

  1. rocquelleislovely

    Patience is the best tool any one with natural hair can have! Even if you aren’t a patient person, your hair will teach you patience, lol.

    May 4, 2013 at 4:40 pm

    • I agree Rocquelleislovely, certainly is you do not want to be bald soon.

      -The Brown Truth

      May 4, 2013 at 6:16 pm

Thanks for supporting me! Be creative and share the positivity of the Natural Hair World!

