The Perfect Fix…For A Natural-Haired Beauty…

“…Trimming Time…Why Is It Relevant For Retention…?”

Image
  

                                                                              Brown Truth Natural Hair Moment #8:

Ladies, being natural isn’t just saying …”oh I’m not going to relax my hair anymore…”, there’s more to this thing than you may initially think.

For most African American woman, we initially think that we’ve made it over the hurdle, and that we are FINALLY done after that “Big Chop” or “Primary Transitional Length Goal”; nevertheless, you’d be surprised to learn the hard way. You’ll be shocked to learn that the initial steps are a part of a milestone, which is only a small part of the beginning…a microcosm of the bigger picture.

What’s in the big picture you may be wondering? It all comes back around and around again:

  1. Healing [stopping usage or chemicals]
  2. Nurturing [learning how to style, wash, condition, detangle]
  3. Maintaining [feeding, moisturizing, watering, etc]

I must say that it is certainly a convoluted task at first, you know…the ‘washing your hair’ and ‘conditioning your hair’ and especially ‘detangling your hair’ can be an ALL DAY task at first (at least until you get the hang of it). However, taking the time to pay attention to your natural tresses and understanding that what works for one natural may not necessary work for you. This mindset can lead to you overwhelming yourself with the do’s and don’ts of the natural hair world, which could ultimately be a waste of time, if it plain and simply does not apply to your hair texture.

What’s the purpose of this conversation? I would love for all of my natural-haired beauties to understand that natural hair is a kind of “all or nothing” domain where if you are even missing one key element in your regimen, it could be the never-ending result of stagnant health and length retention. So, in addition to all of those different stages, just make sure you are trimming as well. 

For most of us, seeing our hair grow long and past our shoulders is like a dream. We can get so caught up in reaching a hair length that we’ve never experience before that we want to hold on to it for dear life once it’s arrived…DON’T DO THIS!!!

Continue to treat your hair with the utmost care and trim it when needed (this does not mean every month either guys…it’ll never grow to the length it should be in a reasonable amount of time if you do this)…you’ll know when it’s time.

When it’s time your hair will:

  1. Start to get slight single strand knots that can be untied
  2. Get really puffy/rough at the ends [you’ll feel this whenever handling your hair]
  3. Start to look different lengths when blow-dried or straightened
  4. Won’t twirl at the ends after creating a two strand twist

…and finally…

    5.  Just look like you REALLY need a trim, which is easily visible to the eye

So ladies, don’t hold on to your hair as it grows…keep it freshly trimmed and you will enjoy unimaginably long healthy hair in the years to come toward waist length and beyond!

I personally trim my hair once every four-five months…it’s proven to like this timeline and continues to flourish at a symmetrical growth rate in between all of my trimmings.

SIMPLE IS ALWAYS BEST!!!

-The Brown Truth

2 responses

  1. robinsondenise2008

    Wow, nice post. Just followed 🙂 You’re right, being natural is more than just letting go of the perm. I feel like I’ve been learning about my hair and about myself during my natural hair journey. Looking forward to more posts. Please visit my blog at http://www.curlygirlsunited.com. I’d love your input.

    May 27, 2013 at 3:25 pm

    • Robinsondenise2008,

      Thank you much for the kind and encouraging words.

      I have been learning so much even though I am coming up on two years without having a relaxer next month; that’s still considered to be a newby in the natural hair world though.

      However, it’s truly been a blessing to share my knowledge with others. I’d like to think that I am helping to contribute to the overall positive experiences that we as naturals deserve to have.

      I will be sure to check you out too! Make sure to stay connected and in conversation with me, even though I am new at this…I still aim to keep my audience reading and interactive!

      -The Brown Truth

      May 28, 2013 at 12:02 am

Thanks for supporting me! Be creative and share the positivity of the Natural Hair World!

