The Perfect Fix…For A Natural-Haired Beauty…

“When I Arrive…I’m Already There!” [The Instant Boost of Confidence That ‘The Fro’ Can Create]

Image

“Wow!”

I feel amazing…this look is regal…unique in it’s existence…I’m never letting it go.

These were my thoughts last night as I approached the mirror to do one last style check before leaving out. I was so pumped to be trying out one of Neosoul lounges in the city. Many times I have felt that, man this isn’t my home…and I jut haven’t found my spot yet.

You know the feeling right? Well, at least those of you who have picked a new city to call home away from anyone you knew or are related to during your adult life…the feeling of emptiness though you’ve met hundreds and have crossed paths with so many…it just doesn’t feel complete until you find that spot that becomes YOUR spot.

I never understood the importance of having that social place where you feel you can go to just be you as an adult. Being that I was mostly eclectic growing up-there wasn’t even a recognizable teenage laymen term for it yet, at least where I come from-I never really just had a spot that I felt was made just for me…just for my crowd.

I’m not saying that all naturals are going to be eclectic like myself and absolutely love Neosoul music like myself….I just do…and…I just so happen to be natural. So, there’s no attempt to generalize here. I’ve always adored Neosoul music…it soft, deep, exotic tone has always seemed to just match perfectly my soft, deep, exotic personality.

Last night I surprisingly took a break from my five week consistent protective variation of twisted styles and I let HER out-the fro of course. SHE was so ecstatic to have some time out and to herself. She let her presence be known and showed me a different side-or rather-size to me that I’d never seen. It-the experience- was so wonderful. For me, it’s like a long-term reward of giving her so quiet time to herself…she got a chance to show how much she has reflected and grown-literally.

As I fixed my belt and prompted my skirt for the last time, all I could do was exhibit a slight basing smile that was relished to see that SHE-my lovely fro-had grown to be in the ‘medium fro zone’…I’ve been waiting for this moment…that feeling of seeing my reward of patience and nurture collide into one.

I’m reminded often that ‘going natural’ was the best thing I could have done to have lustrously healthy hair. Moments like these tells me that my confidence before is not even comparable to the levels of confidence I have now…it’s the bomb-being natural-I’m just feeling myself all the way.

-The Brown Truth

***In My Zone and Feeling Myself Photo Shoot—Side Eye—Below***

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

7 responses

  1. love your hair…looks very healthy. What products do you use?

    July 4, 2013 at 1:02 pm

    • Thank you thank you for your lovely compliment!

      As far as products are concerned, I am not a junky. I keep my line extremely simple:

      1. WATER
      2. OILS
      3. BUTTERS
      4. WHIPPED SHEA BUTTER [THE NATURAL ME-THIS STUFF IS THE BOMB!]
      5. BEAUTIFUL TEXTURES [DEEP REPAIR-MOISTURE BUTTER-LOVES MY HAIR]
      6. SHEA MOISTURE
      [I LOVE LOVE LOVE THE FINE THIN HAIR LINE-EVEN THOUGH MY HAIR IS SUPER
      THICK IT HAS ALL THE BEST NUTRIENT/INGREDIENTS]

      7. AUNT JACKIE’S [KNOT ON MY WATCH-CONDITIONER-SHAMPOO-IT’S NATURAL]
      8. NOTHING BUTT PRODUCTS [LOVE EVERYTHING ON THE LINE-IT’S ALSO NATURAL]

      The products above are all I use and I haven’t had to purchase a lot, I buy the line and it lasts. I don’t always buy stuff together because I am ‘budget queen’ and my main day to day usually consists of the water-oil mix in a spray bottle every morning and every evening, with the oil and the whipped shea butter application if it’s not in a protective style, if it is in a protective style where I don’t want to touch it…I just spray my water-oil concoction all over my head twice a day. I deep condition-shampoo biweekly [sometimes if I feel a need I will cowash in between that time period.

      Really, the saying simple is best is truly what I live by and because of that my hair sometimes grow u to an inch a month, average is 3/4 each month and I only trim my hair when it needs to be trimmed, which averages out to about every four months.

      Hope this helped. Truly…when you show your natural hair love, it shows it back!

      Again, thanks for your sweet compliment, it made my day.

      -The Brown Truth

      July 4, 2013 at 1:56 pm

  2. Wow, your regimen is on point lol…im going to check out the products you listed…check me out http://naturaltales.wordpress.com/

    July 4, 2013 at 3:04 pm

  3. Color me natural

    Your hair looks amazinggggg!

    July 5, 2013 at 1:41 am

    • Thanks much lady! Appreciate it 😉

      July 5, 2013 at 9:34 am

      • Color me natural

        you’re welcome! 🙂

        July 5, 2013 at 1:12 pm

  4. I love your blog and I nominated you for the Shine On Award. Please click the following link for more information: http://iamnaturallykinky.wordpress.com/2013/07/06/my-shine-on-award-nomination/

    July 6, 2013 at 1:38 am

Thanks for supporting me! Be creative and share the positivity of the Natural Hair World!

